Forty-three.

Forty-three.

43 minutes.

Four 10-minute increments with a bonus three minutes stapled onto it’s backside and a “nah-nah-nah-nah-nah-nah … you can’t stop me” added for good measure. Make that 2,580 seconds of high decibel wailing. Our child just had the ugliest, shrilling, cry-it-out, kick and buck, snot slingin’, tear rollin’, food throwing tantrum.

Good golly. Miss Molly. I. Am. Drained.

I think children provide us with these moments to reflect on our own state of being a child; does our parental love align with God’s love and discipline for us? In the moment do we seek wisdom or satisfy the self?

It’s amazing that God would love me so much that when I have made a disastrous stink like my daughter just displayed, His love doesn’t detach, recoil, or diminish. I can’t sling enough snot to the point He’d walk away.

I doubt I come across irresistible in those moments, but His love finds me worthy enough that He patiently waits it out and lets me fall into a big ole hug of comfort and infinite love. In fact, His love has set a bar so high that it serves an example to us to keep turning and returning to love over and over for one another. Even when it’s hard. Really hard.

I couldn’t help but think of a tragic news story I read earlier today where a young twenty-something mom had done unspeakable abuse to her toddler son. This happens all too frequently. Something tells me she had no personal reference as to how much she can love her child  as an overflow of how much God loves her. What sadness. I wish I could reach out to her. I wish her son could also hear and understand the vastness of God’s love and how special he is to his Creator.

Your love is deep, Your love is high

Your love is long, Your love is wide.


Your love is deeper than my view of grace

Higher than this worldly place

Longer than this road I travel

Wider than the gap You’ve filled


Your love is deep, Your love is high

Your love is long, Your love is wide.


Who shall separate us from Your love?

Who shall separate us from Your love?

Nothing can separate us from the love of Jesus.

Nothing can separate us from your love.

Written my Jami Smith

Give me your thoughts!

