Beach Balls and a Manger

This is a crazy exciting week. After having just returned from an early celebration of my Memaw-in-law’s 70th birthday, we are really just now beginning to dip our toes in the stream of upcoming birthday festivities.

Since my husband and his beloved Memaw share the same birthday this upcoming Thursday, we have always had lots to celebrate every August, especially since my brother-in-law’s birthday is exactly one week later. Over the recent years, we’ve acquired friendships with co-workers, small group friends, and neighbors, and yet more in-law relationships, who also have birthdays these first two weeks of August. What’s even more, our daughter, who came to us via adoption, will be turning TWO in just eight days! On the heels of that birthday, is the birthday of the wonderful angel birth mother who gave us our adorable, sweet package two years ago. It’s just an all out celebration of people that make my life so full. I love it!

But how do you celebrate a birthday in the hottest summer you can remember in your 31 years of life? With all things summer, of course! We have some beach balls to hit around, some buckets and sand, a play set with swings and slides, watermelon and hot dogs, water hose and wading pool … the works!

We’re aiming to keep it simple and toddler friendly and most of all, to make merry the day we honor our little beam of light, our daughter (who is currently painting her face in oatmeal and blueberries!)

What’s more exciting is I’ve been asked to take on a writing assignment and my first deadline is coming up along with this week’s parties and guests. Well, okay, so that’s not the part that is so exciting. In fact, that part I need your help praying that I accomplish much in little time! Really, I DO need your prayers! But, to me, the most exciting part is that I’ll be writing a script and retelling a Bible story for a video piece that plays to preschoolers in their churches across the country. I feel so privileged to be writing a piece that details the Christmas story and illuminates the story of Jesus’ birthday in a way that preschoolers can connect with and understand the love they have from their Heavenly Father; that he would give us his only Son and reconcile us to Him.

So while I’m teaching my little girl how to share beach balls at her birthday party, I’m also thinking of how I’ll teach her about the manger and how Jesus came to us and lay in a feeding trough, only to become her Savior and Prince. Like my daughter, He was adopted by an earthly family and a world that would come to know the gift He is.

Luke 2:6-7 While they were there, the time came for the baby to be born, and she gave birth to her firstborn, a son. She wrapped him in cloths and placed him in a manger, because there was no room for them in the inn.

One thought on “Beach Balls and a Manger

  1. Melissa says:

    Prayers coming your way. However, knowing my jules. There is not a doubt in my mind, you will make it through, just fine. Yes, you will stress and make sure that everything is perfect.. But, Trust in God, it will be. And, do I need to remind you who else’s b’day is this month. Did you dare forget? HMMMMMMMM!!! Love you Jules!! Meli

Give me your thoughts!

