Caught in a FLYtrap

Yesterday, I jumped back into blogging. Something I’ve let go for far too long. It’s something I enjoy and writing is my outlet. However, I had let the notion of being too busy with wife and mother duties keep me from being an active author to my own blog world. Notice I said notion, not actually doing those duties. Some of it I did in fact do, but not all that my dizzy head made me think I was doing.

Does the italicized font help you hear this conversation take place? Good. I was hoping it would.

I suffered self-loathing laziness, guilt, and had snarky thoughts in my mind when other moms I knew would detail (in conversations and on Facebook) their accomplishments, too many to count, by early daytime. I began to notice how these efficient mothers were spending abundant amounts of quality time with their husband and kiddos and weren’t tormented over the homestead duties awaiting them. Thankfully,Β divinely even, a fellow mommy posted her frustrations of not seeing the light (for all the loads of laundry, no doubt) and feeling quite overwhelmed. A friend of hers commented on her plea for help by saying, “girl, I need to introduce you to FLYlady!”

The curiosity got to me and I googledΒ FLYlady. Then, the heavens opened to release a sweet dove which flew down from the departed skies, lighted on my shoulder whilst cooing a melody of full strings and celestial harp, and an angelic Celtic Women-like voice sang sweetly, “We are glad you are here. We have been waiting. Help is on the way.” Er, maybe it was more like a very basic website opened up and I saw a cartoonish purple-headed fairy lady greet me and then I navigated the page for a while. Either account is good for me; reality is secondary.

After a few minutes of digging in the website, I was shining things and just “jumping in”, which I’ll talk more about later. Since then, I have struck a balance in my home that not only everyone is noticing, but they are following suit, too. I have amazed my toughest critic. ME!

My motivation comes from my daily “hugs” and I love going out of my house for small grocery trips, travel, even just to check my mail and walking back into a balanced home, clean, and growing in organization. And my daughter has never once made me feel like I’ve snubbed her needs over a fresh and gleaming toilet! In fact, she now tells me when she’s playing in the dishwasher, “I halping, Mommy!”

I know I had to identify what was genuine laziness and what was valid concerns that kept me from getting things done. It was, and is, a lesson in self-control. I had read in the Proverbs, my daily honing tool, some wise scriptures that spoke to this area of my life.

Proverbs 25:28 “A person without self-control is as defenseless as a city with broken-down walls.”

Proverbs 26:13 “The lazy person is full of excuses…”

Proverbs 27:15 “A nagging wife is as annoying as the constant dripping on a rainy day. Trying to stop her complaints is like trying to stop the wind or hold something with greased hands.”

And finally, Proverbs 27:19 “As a face is reflected in water, so the heart reflects the person.”

My heart and my attitude were mirrors of each other and my nagging was annoying even me! I was allowing things to burden me that were intended to bless me. My home, my family, and my duties were all things I was shackling to my feet rather than using them to lift me up. My reality was being choked of intentional blessings, and in exchange were darted with flying curses. I had never viewed my chores and duties at home as ways in which I could love not only my family but also myself.

And who doesn’t just thrive in a clean environment? Much like the financial common sense we subscribe to of Dave Ramsey’s, where paying off the smallest to largest debt creates a snowball of momentum for getting things done with gazelle-like intensity, once you start, you find that more can be accomplished in less time than you’d imagine. You surprise yourself and build faith in yourself.

In just a few days of going to bed with a shiny and dish-less sink, doing a load of laundry a day (if needed), unloading the dishwasher first thing in the morning, looking ahead to my calendar, and so on, I was caught in a trap. A FLY trap! Rooms of chaos and clutter were being tackled and things were finding their proper homes. Funny how the proper home for a lot of the stuff I cleared was the dumpster!

You can FLY, too. Finally Love Yourself.

Give me your thoughts!

