David Update, Wednesday, Apr. 1, 2009

David is currently undergoing surgery #2. They started around 9 a.m. and they expect it to go 4 to 5 hours. Today’s surgery is on the leg and arm. They are inserting a rod into his left femur and also putting plates around his left upper arm. The surgeon hopes that the fractures the plate will be protecting will heal on their own without pins. If those two areas go well, they may move down to 3 of his toes and put some pins in there, too. It seems like the surgeon’s efforts come with a lot of long-term planning in mind…like rehabiliation, balance, and someday soon walking.

David’s chest tube came out yesterday as his left lung has reinflated. He is still intubated on the ventilator, which would be the case for surgery anyway.

They did a lot of xrays, ct scans, and testing yesterday to make sure his pre-op would be complication free. No reports on any of those, so it’s assumed that all was as expected. He did get agitated/combative during the ct scan, but with all the movement, there was a great deal of pain felt. He was on a higher moriphine amount as well as another strong sedation med, so he didn’t come around much except for some opening of his eyes.  Last night before we said goodnight to him, he SQUEEZED MY HAND! My heart did a flip!

The pain after today’s procedure will be off the charts again, but they are really doing a great job at keeping him as well rested as possible. I will say that the U.K. 2nd floor ICU nurses and staff have been wonderful. He has had a very confident nurse, Mel, twice now. She is really direct in her care for David and is very proactive and positivie. There is a growing list of people that our family is thankful for!

Tina and Lance got some rest at home last night and we’re back here (at the hospital) just before 7 a.m. They got some time with David before his pre-op work started.

Tim and I camped out in ICU…the land of zombies! Seriously, the stories of the families that are there supporting their loved ones are so touching. They need prayer and peace, too.

For those of you following me on Facebook, I updated last night that I had seen pics of the wreckage. I just can’t make sense of how anyone could survive. And that’s where God steps in…to do the extraordinary! It really is miraculous that both David and Barton are alive!

By the way, good news! Barton has been released from the hospital and is at home recovering with his family! God is good!

Well, I’ll try to update later. Thanks for reading, praying, loving, and trusting God! You’re our warriors…and the more I’m reminded of my precious Uncle David…he is MORE than a conqueror through Jesus!

Love,

Jules & Family

One thought on “David Update, Wednesday, Apr. 1, 2009

  1. Sandy says:

    I just read about what is happening with your Uncle and I wanted to let you know that I am not far away at all if there is anything that I can do to help. I am on Spring Break this week so whatever you guys need- just let me know and I am there. My prayers are with you all. Please pass on my love to everyone.

Give me your thoughts!

