A Chili-ing Affair

What’s the perfect warm-up food for these decreasing temperatures? Why none other than CHILI! What I love about chili is that there are no two alike. You can be as creative as you’d like or just stick to the basics. And the longer you let your concoction hang out and meld, the better!

A few fellow neighbors and I organized our subdivision’s Fall Festival this year which we had last night and we had a chili cook-off to get things going just right. We also offered face painting, hot dogs, pumpkin carving contest (sort of), and then a finale of the Halloween classic It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown! It was a decent turn-out and of the four chilis presented, two of them were ours. I bring to you the making of Eric’s Barely Lethal chili and my Thanksgiving Sans the Cranberry Sauce chili…

Barely Lethal Ingredients

Barely Lethal Ingredients

Eric’s recipe was the perfect manly-man chili having 3 meats and a lot of heat. This was his first chili attempt ever, so he carefully selected a guiding recipe and then took a few liberties to make it his own. The Rajun Cajun smoked sausage really added that depth and extra punch to it. He did great and had people scoopin’ up seconds!

I love watching Eric in the kitchen. When we first married, it was a debate over making two different meals or going to a buffet so we could both eat a balance of what we wanted. His choices were meat, potatoes, and bread. Mine? Let’s just say I had a more developed palate! Now, the man eats all kinds of veggies and dishes that I cook. I’d like to think I had a hand in making that happen!

Thanksgiving Sans the Cranberry Sauce Chili Ingredients

Thanksgiving Sans the Cranberry Sauce Chili Ingredients

As for my chili, I wanted to make use of some unique ingredients that I’ve switched to using more of. Turkey instead of beef…pureed pumpkin to thicken up sauces, soups, and stews…spices that are traditionally found in desserts and/or roast meats, etc. It’s definitely a fill-up on veggies and fiber!

As a side-note, I have to add that we didn’t start assembling our chilis until Friday evening sometime around 10 o’clock. We had to get Viv’s last feeding in and her off to bed as well as work on laundry while doing this all. So, I have to say, as I’ve always known, Eric and I make a fantastic team! Why, because with all of this, we still got in bed before 1 am AND the kitchen was clean!

Here are the two dueling burners.

Dueling Burners

Dueling Burners

Eric’s Barely Lethal chili simmering.

Barely Lethal Simmering

Barely Lethal Simmering

My Thanksgiving Sans the Cranberry Sauce Simmering.

Thanksgiving Sans the Cranberry Sauce Simmering

Thanksgiving Sans the Cranberry Sauce Simmering

Here’s the lineup of folks getting their chili on!

Chili Line-Up

Chili Line-Up

Chili Feast

Chili Feast

Some pumpkins I carved, er…drilled!

Boo! Drilling for Pumpkins

Boo! Drilling for Pumpkins

Lastly, the cutest pumpkin ever!

Cutest Punkin'

Cutest Punkin

One thought on “A Chili-ing Affair

  1. Mom says:

    I’d like to get my hands on that cute little pumpkin and eat her up with kisses. Miss you guys! It is so good to see her finally growing, filling out with all those big smiles on her face. Dad and I would sure like to play with her now. The picture is great send me a 4×6 print to frame for the living room.

    Love Mom

Give me your thoughts!

