A Blogging Crime!

What’s the #1 blogging crime you ask? Answer: having a blog that you post absolutely no activity to beyond an acceptable amount of time *cough* as in 39 days! But who’s counting, right? Oh yeah…all of you–ESPECIALLY my out of town family and friends–who wonder if Vivian is still stuck at being a month old. I’ve felt that sense of nagging to get caught up with blogging much like the many of you who have that nagging sense because you’re guilty of leaving digital pictures on your camera for ages without uploading them. You know who you are!

So, there is definitely much to catch you up on, but I’ll try not too be long-winded…

Our precious Vivian is now 10 weeks old! She’s on target for everything and braved well the four shots at her two-month appointment; she cried less than 30 seconds. Luckily, it was close to her next feeding, so the comfort of a full belly (and a round of tylenol pre-visit) helped too.

Vivi’s 2 Month Stats

23 in. long, 10 lb. and 4 oz.

Sleeping through the night since 4 weeks of age.  What a blessing!

Vivi is full of smiles, coos, talking, singing (in her own way of course) and she definitely has a gift for gab! She plays so hard on her floor gym, loves having a mirror to look at “the baby”, bounces in her bouncy, swings in her swing and makes eyes at the mobile of animals spinning above her, enjoys bath time, and LOVES to be outdoors! Can I just say that I love being her mommy?! So much so that it leads me to the next bit of news.

Much has changed fast and excitingly in my world. After returning to work from a six-week maternity leave, I faced some challenging moments and new developments at work. I needed to think long-term and evaluate things that had occurred and how the pieces of being now a full-time working mom would fit together to best align with my priorities in my family and personal ministry. After prayer and long, long discussions, Eric and I felt God leading us to make a decision for me to resign at work. This wasn’t easy given the non-stop media reports of our crumbling economy. But peace has presided in our restful decision and thankfully there are two things we could do to fix the craze the media hopes we marinate in: 1) NO TV! and 2) remain in our faith for our provisional God and not in this economy and our paychecks.

After announcing my resignation, the determined leave date was last Thursday, October 16th. The prior Sunday, October 12th, was my last Sunday on staff with the awesome team of volunteers that God allowed me to work with. I was so sad to say farewell to that being my “home” on Sundays, but I’m also very excited about the new possibilities this gives me…what it gives us…OUR FAMILY! Besides that, I’ll always be a middle schooler at heart!

Also on the twelfth was my 30th birthday! Yes, 3-0! I’m loving it, too! I’ve been praying for my thirties to come…seriously! I’ve got so many great influences in my life that tell me how every year gets better for them, and hence every decade gets better. I knew one thing going into my 30’s this year that I didn’t know when I was turning 29… Lord willing, I was going to celebrate each day of my life and my marriage as a mother! I would see my little girl grow and step into her purpose in life! Amazing!

So as a stay at home mom, this week has been great! I’ve learned the times in which I can accomplish a lot and maximize those nap times.  I’ve also learned when to just stop and play! I love greeting Eric after his workday with a happy baby in my arms (or a snoozing one in a crib) and I enjoy it especially this season of the year. And yes, to those of you who really, REALLY know me–I have indeed been playing Christmas music for the last four days. No joking.

Well, forget the “not too long-winded” statement. Might as well add that I am falling in love with baking and cooking all over again. It’s such a challenge now to stage things just right and complete it all while Vivian is playing or sleeping. I’ve baked a sweet potato pie, two batches of pumpkin pie fudge, italian meat loaf, and three soups in the past few days. There’s so much more to do, too!

Eric has been so busy lately, but boy is he cranking out some fun video pieces! He is so stinkin’ talented! KidStuf keeps him very tied up with projects, but he loves the challenge and, in my opinion, exceeds many times over what’s asked of him. KidStuf has really evolved over the past 6 months and the newness of it’s direction keeps Eric hopping, but he’s managing well. He is also into side contract jobs that have proven to be fun and the extra money is great!

Before I close with the big finale (pictures/videos), I’ll say that we also received exciting news that our hearing date has been selected for our petition to adopt Vivian. By that I mean that we aren’t finished yet with the adoption. We are currently recognized legally as Viv’s guardians with intentions to adopt, but the happy, gavel-to-the-desk, hip hip hooray FINAL moment is set for December 1st! We will officially be the parentals!

Thanks for your patience and sticking with me on the blogging updates. I hope these nuggets of cuteness make the wait worthwhile!

Love to all!

Ashely Getting Practice!

Ashley Getting Practice!

Cheese!

Cheese!

Cousins Rock!

Cousins Rock!

Mommy & Vivi

Mommy & Vivi

Nap Time Trio

Nap Time Trio

I *LOVE* Natbug!

I *LOVE* Natbug!

Cute Shirt and Hair Bow

Cute Shirt and Hair Bow

Where is Vivi?

Where is Vivi?

I See Her Now!

I See Her Now!

Nanna Bakes Good Cakes!

Nanna Bakes Good Cakes!

My KY Shower Cake

My KY Shower Cake

Celebrating Nonna Donna's 50th at Atlantic Station

Celebrating Nonna Donna

Papa Tony Squeezin at Atlantic Station

Papa Tony Squeezin at Atlantic Station

Phbbbtbtbt!

Phbbbtbtbt!

Poppy Snuggle Time

Poppy Snuggle Time

Sing To Me, Poppy!

Sing To Me, Poppy!

We Are a Pair!

We Are a Pair!

Ready for Bath!

Ready for Bath!

4 thoughts on “A Blogging Crime!

  1. Kissyam says:

    I can’t handle the video’s!! Tears are streaming down my face. I can’t wait to squeeze her til she pops!!!! I love you guys… and thanks for the update.

  2. OHMYGOODNESS!!!! I sooo super excited for the updates and new pics! I have been checking and checking back for updates! YAY for updates! I can not believe how much she is growing I MUST come for a visit asap! I def need a Jules and Vi fix! LOL! I miss you guys! Luvs, kisses and hugs! *MUAH!*

Give me your thoughts!

