Where Sweetpea Will Sleep

Well, we’ve made some great progress in the last few weeks with the nursery. What used to be a home office and gift wrapping room is now transformed. When you think about it, we’ve only changed the look and feel of a home office–where we will be our busiest and work harder than ever before–and as far as a gift wrapping room–we’ll be bringing home and wrapping and re-wrapping the BEST GIFT EVER!

We’ve primed and painted (thanks Mom and Dad Kent), picked out fabric (thanks Kimberly), cut and installed crown molding (thanks Steve and Dad Arvin), brought in the furniture we bought (thanks Travis), have cut/pinned/pressed/sewed baby’s bedding (thanks Mom Arvin), and have filled the closets/drawers/toy boxes with sweet baby necessities (thanks EVERYONE)!

WE. ARE. READY.

Other than lacking in wall art and a few other accessories (which should be remedied soon now that I have inspiration from Holly and Carrie), here is how Baby’s room is looking today…

Here’s the crib that Eric picked out and the smooth Dutailier glider we purchased from a Craig’s List posting. Look at that basket just full of great books! And the two toy cubes on the left are stuffed with fun (and noisy!) toys.

Here is the crib blanket that my mom made with the fabrics I chose.

And here’s a closeup of the cool fabrics! Didn’t do so bad, now did we?

Here’s the dresser/changing table. I just love the changing pad cover!

And believe it or not, we handmade the cornice board, upholstered it, and with the help of my dad measuring the panels, I made the curtains myself! With my mom’s guidance of course!

We’ll have a nice view looking out of this custom window treatment to our friendly neighborhood!

9 thoughts on “Where Sweetpea Will Sleep

  1. Awww…Julie! It looks BEAUTIFUL!!! Makes me want to cry! You guys did a fabulous job with the nursery. I’m so impressed. I know you and Eric will make such great parents! Now if that baby will just make it’s appearance…

  2. Wow. That room is GORGEOUS! I want to sleep in there! πŸ˜‰ Thanks so much for posting pictures. I’ve been waiting for them! You guys did a fabulous job. Your baby is sure to sleep peacefully. Let the countdown begin!

  3. Wow! I was doing this exact same thing last year! You’re baby is so blessed and how fun it is to be getting ready for your little one. The nursery is beautiful and I love the fabric! And we have the same diaper pail (really like it) and the same changing pad cover…I want bedding made out of it! Not much longer…

  4. Meli B says:

    Oh!! IT’s so beautiful.. And you did an awesome job!!!! keep us posted, and know that you are in our prayers.. Love you…

  5. kimberly says:

    The room looks awesome! you guys did an amazing job. I am sew impressed with those curtains you did. i guess the sewing bug gotcha. We miss you guys.

  6. Tiffany McBurnett says:

    Hi Julie!!! Lindsey gave me the site and I just wanted you to know we are praying for you guys and we are sooo excited and the room looks fabulous!!! You did a great job!!!!

  7. Julie,

    Craig & I would LOVE to remedy the wall decor once Baby Kent arrives. I would love to make a name frame for you guys (once I know the name).

    Can’t wait!!

    Many blessings,
    Allison

  8. Missy says:

    Julie- so glad to see that you have posted an update for us. I finally tried to get in touch with your Mom, but I guess I know why I didn’t reach her now! πŸ™‚ You guys did a fabulous job on the room and the bedding. It all looks so wonderful. I know that you can barely stand it right now! I am so excited for you both! Can’t wait to hear the news that the baby is here!

Give me your thoughts!

