It Was Just Last Night

It was just last night that I held you before my arms even could.

Two hands touched, hers guiding mine to where you moved about in your own sea of safety and contentment.

I watched this man’s eyes dance as he watched me grow in excitement feeling you turn beneath my hand; that man you’ll soon call Daddy.

ā€¢ā€¢ā€¢ā€¢ā€¢ā€¢ā€¢ā€¢ā€¢

It was just last night that before we closed our eyes to rest, you were all we could think about, and so we prayed.

Thoughts of you entering this world, this family–it’s a sweet song that repeats over and over in my heart.

The thought of your tiny hands, sweet smell, and the ways you’ll bring so much joy to us soothes me to sleep and there, we meet in my dreams.

ā€¢ā€¢ā€¢ā€¢ā€¢ā€¢ā€¢ā€¢ā€¢

It was just last night that we found the perfect crib for you to sleep in, the perfect dresser to neatly tuck away your tiny clothes, and the rocker that we’ll spend countless hours in.

So many people can’t wait to meet you. You’ve got Nana’s, Nonna’s, Poppy’s and Papa’s hearts just swooning and bursting to embrace you. The same is true for so many more!

There is a purpose and a plan for you, Little One. Your Creator formed you with love, unfathomable complexity, and all for a unique reason. We just can’t believe we get to be a part of this story.

ā€¢ā€¢ā€¢ā€¢ā€¢ā€¢ā€¢ā€¢ā€¢

It was just last night that I held you before my arms even could.

Written to my Little One,

Love Julie

(but I’ll soon be known as Mommy)

4 thoughts on “It Was Just Last Night

  1. Hey Julie! Yeah, I just recently started, and it’s so addicting! I’m having a lot of fun. I love reading your blog and seeing the updates on the adoption. Jon and I are so happy for you guys. I can’t wait to meet him or her! I saw Ashley and Travis last night and they shared their news with me. I ‘m so excited! There is definitely a baby boom in the neighborhood! Let’s definitely get together. I’m pretty fun this summer, so if you want to go on a walk or go to dinner, let me know! Yeah, can you believe Luca did that? I blame it on Jon. He mislead him. Hee hee. Hope all is well with you. Post pics of the nursery soon!

  2. Haha. I just noticed that I said that I’m pretty FUN this summer. I meant to say FREE!!! People are probably reading this and thinking, what??? Oops! I mean I am fun and all, but that’s not what I meant! šŸ™‚

  3. Allison says:

    Julie,

    What beautiful words. I am so glad that you & Eric are able to share this moment in time.

    God has His hand in everything!

    Much love,

    Allison & Craig

Give me your thoughts!

