A catchy tune is what we need!

So, here’s something you can help with! We need to rock-n-roll on our adoption profile, which will be a DVD (motion and picture) presentation. We need the perfect song! Something that fits us, not overly mushy, yet meaningful and whimsical! We’re open to any genre (although rap won’t fit us at all and country, well I know I’m from Kentucky and Eric is from Northwest Florida, but twang normally ain’t our thang.) However, we are completely open to suggestions!

We’re not looking for anything too mainstream and chart-topping. Nothing cliche. Don’t go suggesting Butterfly Kisses for goodness sake!

If you are the lucky person to suggest the song that we choose, we’ll even sweeten the deal. We’ll name our child after you! Well, not really, but I will come up with something pretty neat and sweet as a song suggesting prize!

Whatcha waiting for? Flex those itunes surfing muscles and start shuffling through your ipods. Give us some feedback. This is your chance to be a part of something huge! Fire away!

7 thoughts on “A catchy tune is what we need!

  1. Nessie says:

    I would suggest “Love Takes the Best of You” By Catie Curtis. It is kind of mushy, folk, not rock, but I wanted to mention it because it is a song about adoption AND it is a favorite of mine. No prize needed just listen to this song!

  2. here ya go: “Simple Things” by rebecca Lynn Howard/Jim Brickman

    We used this song for our first video after bringing Daniel home– but it is PERFECT for an upbeat video about the two of you! here are the lyrics… the preview on iTunes doesn’t do it justice. I especially think the third stanza is so fitting…”so, here we go, let’s just dance, teach my soul to take this chance…”

    OK, I must stop typing about this before I short circuit my keyboard with tears. Geez. I’m such a sap. Here’s a look at the lyrics:

    Hey, time won’t wait
    Life goes by
    Every day’s a brand new sky
    Every tear
    Comes to dry
    All that really matters in this crazy world
    Is you and I together, baby
    Just remember

    The first leaves off the tree
    The way you look at me
    A thousand chiming church bells ring
    The simple things are free
    The sun, the moon, the stars
    The beating of two hearts
    How I love the simple things
    The simple things just are

    So here we go
    Let’s just dance
    Teach my soul to take this chance
    Put my heart
    In your hands
    Out of all the moments that we leave behind
    Turn around and tell me baby
    We’ll remember

    The thunder and the rain
    The way you say my name
    After all the clouds go by
    The simple things remain
    The sun, the moon, the stars
    The beating of two hearts
    How I love the simple things
    The simple things just are

    Oh, the ocean and the sky
    The way we feel tonight
    I know that it’s the love that brings
    The simple things to life
    The sun, the moon, the stars
    The beating of two hearts
    I love the way the simple things
    The simple things just are
    I love the way the simple things
    The simple things just are
    The simple things just are
    The simple things
    Just are

  3. Kristy & Shawnda says:

    Somewhere out there – Linda Ronstadt
    I want you to want me – Cheap Trick 😉
    Waiting on the world to change – John Mayer
    I belong to you – Lenny Kravitz
    I don’t wanna miss a thang- Aerosmith
    I’ll go to my grave lovin’ you – Statler Brothers
    Crazy Love – Van Morrison
    Into the Mystic – Van Morrison
    Your mama don’t dance – Poison 😉
    Our Song – Taylor Swift
    If I had a Million Dollars – Barenaked Ladies
    Blackbird – Beatles
    Nobody Knows But Me – Tony Rich Project
    Redneck Girl – Bellamy Brothers 😉
    Close to you – The Carpenters
    Songs are mine and Shawnda’s pasttime, this is very fun for us, if you guys can compile a list of favorite artists, we can and will find the perfect song. This was aimed solely at you and Eric as a couple not toward the process of the adoption, so if we are headed down the wrong road, let us know. Some are completely silly, but everyone needs a good laugh.
    We love Julie the mostest…and Eric tooo

  4. Tracy :) says:

    Hello Julie & Eric! I love you blog and you know my thoughts and prayers are with you during this exciting time you are going through. Here’s my suggestion for your song…Sweet, sweet baby by Michelle Featherstone. I hope you love it!

Give me your thoughts!

