It all happened so fast . . .

So last week my family from Kentucky came in for a visit and it was wonderful, but it happened all too fast! They came in late Saturday, literally followed the Domino’s guy to the front door, and after catching up for a bit, we were in bed resting up for the journey of showing them Browns Bridge Church (where Eric and I work) the next day. Church was terrific and I wondered if any of them knew that Andy wasn’t really there. Turns out, my dad and mom found out sometime throughout the service that it was indeed the hi-def image of him, but my brother, Mr. Techno Savvy himself, wasn’t entirely sure until the very end when Andy prayed and the set changed. A big applause for the brilliant SPD teams at the three campuses that make this incredible environment happen each week!

Afterwards, Eric took Jeremy, my brother, to the Hawks vs. Knicks game for some hoops action and I believe they had a great time just being guys. Meanwhile, I was a mad woman in the kitchen making our famed two-bite brownies and prepping for a Low Country Boil. Let the feeding frenzy begin!

Just an idea of the meals we ate: Low Country Boil, Momma’s Roast, Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup, Eric’s BBQ ribs, and what some may take for granted but certainly not us — homegrown canned green beans from mom and dad’s garden. We ate very good last week and had great conversations all the while, getting more use out of my dining room than in the last year!

Eric and I both had to do some work based off of deadlines while they were here, so that took from our time. The weather was dreadful up until the last 24 hours before they left. However, on the upside, I did get my mom in for some hairapy with Leslie the Great (my hair stylist) and she really liked the cut and style. That was nice just getting away for girl time.

Wednesday came quickly, and before we knew it, the visit had come to an end and it was back to work! My mom has it in her head that we’ll somehow not be seeing each other for another 3 to 6 months, but that’s just crazytalk! I’m sure we’ll need a refill on green beans long before then!

To all the Spring Break travelers out there — have fun, be safe, and make the most of all your moments together!

One thought on “It all happened so fast . . .

  1. I LOVE THE NEW STYLE!! Glad you had a good visit with your family! We will totally take you up on your offer of the pump – we have the mattress. Guess I’ll see you Wednesday at our place! Sounds like you had quite the feast – and to think I’m ordering Honeybaked Ham sandwich tray for my family while they are in town. I’ll keep you feast our little secret :o)

Give me your thoughts!

